Congress gov

© 2009 Congress gov


In the ‘Land of the Free’ there are various holidays that are celebrated by citizens, some of which are also celebrated by the government. However, unlike some other countries, employers are not required to give employees a paid day off on these days and businesses can stay open if they want. Federal, state and local offices close for some major holidays.

Most businesses and government agencies close on Christmas day (December 25) and Thanksgiving (Forth Thursday in November). Some exceptions to this are gas stations, restaurants and some mass merchants. In small towns and lightly populated areas, even these businesses may close.

Other recognized holidays include New Year’s Day (January 1), Easter Sunday (end of the Lenten season), Memorial Day (Last Monday in May), Labor Day (First Monday in September) and Independence Day (July 4). Some holidays that are only observed by certain government agencies include Martin Luther King Day (Third Monday in January), Columbus Day (Second Monday in October), Mardi Gras (Day before beginning of Lenten season and 40 days before Easter Sunday), Valentine’s Day (February 14), St. Patrick’s Day (March 15), Groundhog Day (February 2), Earth Day (April 22), Mother’s Day (Second Sunday in May), Father’s Day (Third Sunday in June) and Halloween (October 31).

With the exception of Christmas, Thanksgiving, Independence Day, New Year’s Day and Veteran’s day, all government holidays are observed on Monday. This rule was placed into effect by the Uniform Holidays Bill of 1968. With many of the government holidays falling on Monday, the employees enjoy a long three day weekend and play Online Games, as most government offices are closed on Saturday and Sunday each week.